If you have been involved in a car accident in the state of South Carolina, it is likely that you will want to make a claim in order to recoup your damages. Car accidents can be very expensive, and in addition to the damages to the car itself, you may find yourself out-of-pocket when it comes to medical bills. In addition, you may need to take time off work in order to make a recovery from your injuries, and this will likely lead to a loss of wages.
It is important that you understand the laws that are specific to the state of South Carolina before making a claim. First, it is the law that all drivers have an insurance policy in place that covers a minimum of $25,000 for one person's bodily injury, $50,000 for any costs related to the injury or death of multiple people after a car accident and $25,000 for any damages to property as a result of the accident.
After an accident takes place, you should first get in touch with your insurance provider and file a claim with them. There will then be an investigation into the incident to determine who was at fault, and as a result, the insurance company will make a settlement offer. If you feel that the settlement offer is not adequate, and your negotiation attempts are not successful, you may want to file a legal claim against your insurance provider.
If you are struggling to have your damages reimbursed as a result of a car accident in South Carolina, it is important to conduct adequately research and understand your rights.